

23 OCTOBER 2017 SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

CONTENTS

1.	OPENING	2
2.	ATTENDANCE, APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE	2
	Members Present	
	Staff In Attendance	
2.3	Observers And Visitors	2
	Apologies and Approved Leave of Absence	
3.	DECLARATION OF OFFICE OF COUNCILLOR	2
4.	ELECTION OF PRESIDENT	2
5.	ELECTION OF DEPUTY PRESIDENT	3
6.	APPRECIATION	3
7.	CLOSURE	3

1. OPENING

The Chief Executive Officer declared the meeting open at 10:01am.

2. ATTENDANCE, APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

2.1 Members Present

Cr DL Brown

Cr DW Davis

Cr P Gogol

Cr SW Martin

Cr CJ Pepper

Cr DJ Ridgway

Cr TWT Seed

Cr LC Shaw

Cr DC White

2.2 Staff In Attendance

Mr SP Gollan Chief Executive Officer

Mr SK Marshall Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Mrs A Lewis Executive Assistant

2.3 Observers And Visitors

Mr Fred Bremner J.P Mr KM Murray

2.4 Apologies and Approved Leave of Absence

Nil

3. DECLARATION OF OFFICE OF COUNCILLOR

Councillors Davis, Gogol, Martin, Pepper, Seed and White made and subscribed the Declaration of Office of Councillor before Mr Fred Bremner, J.P.

Mr Fred Bremner congratulated the Councillors.

4. ELECTION OF PRESIDENT

Council is required to elect the Shire President from among the Councillors, as required in Section 2.15 of the Local Government Act 1995 and as detailed in Schedule 2.3 of Division 2 of the Act.

(Nominations for the Office of Shire President must be in writing and presented to the Chief Executive Officer at the commencement of the meeting.)

The Chief Executive Officer advised that Cr Ridgway had been nominated for the position of President.

The Chief Executive Officer received five written nominations:

Cr White nominated Cr Ridgway.

Cr Pepper nominated Cr Ridgway.

Cr Gogol nominated Cr Ridgway.

Cr Seed nominated Cr Ridgway.

Cr Ridgway self-nominated.

Cr Ridgway accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations received Cr Ridgway was declared elected as President for the Shire of Beverley for the ensuing two (2) year term.

Cr Ridgway then made the Declaration of Office of President before Mr Fred Bremner, J.P.

5. ELECTION OF DEPUTY PRESIDENT

(Nominations for the Office of Deputy Shire President must be in writing and presented to the Chief Executive Officer at the commencement of the meeting.)

The Chief Executive Officer advised that Cr Pepper, Cr Don Davis and Cr Lew Shaw had been nominated for the position of Deputy President.

The Chief Executive Officer received four written nominations:

Cr Seed nominated Cr Shaw

Cr Gogol nominated Cr Davis

Cr White nominated Cr Pepper

Cr Ridgway nominated Cr Pepper

Cr Shaw declined the nomination.

Cr Davis Shaw declined the nomination.

Cr Chris Pepper accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations received Cr Pepper was declared elected as Deputy President for the Shire of Beverley for the ensuing two (2) year term.

Cr Pepper then made the Declaration of Office of Deputy President before Mr Fred Bremner, J.P.

Cr Ridgway resumed the Chair.

6. APPRECIATION

Shire President, Cr Ridgway thanked Councillors for their support being re-elected as President. Cr Ridgway welcomed and congratulated new Cr's Martin and Seed. Cr Ridgway welcomed back Cr's Gogol, Davis, White and Pepper. Cr Ridgway recognised the four unsuccessful candidates and increased interest shown in election by the Community. Cr Ridgway then thanked Mr Fred Bremner for conducting the formalities of the meeting.

7. CLOSURE

The Chairperson declared the meeting closed 10:17am.

I hereby certify these Minutes as being confirmed in accordance with Section 5.22 of the Local Government Act 1995.

PRESIDING MEMBER: DATE: